Our kids vs your kids

So I can’t say I’m surprised by this, but I’m not sure I can explain why.

While I was traveling in Central America, I noticed how impeccably well-behaved the children were on buses. The babies didn’t cry, the toddlers didn’t fuss and even the teens weren’t obnoxious.

Ever since I moved to the city, I’ve marveled at how vastly different people behave on MUNI. I sat next to a high schooler the other day and she was talking about who had sex in the bathroom with her friend. Almost every kid I’ve seen has started whaling bloody murder. And parents seem to either not care or have zero control over their kid.

Now how does this come to pass in a nation that thinks itself to be so progressive – in the first world vs. third world sense? What about the two cultures produces such different results? Is it that kids here are just so over stimulated that when they are forced to sit for periods of time longer than a few minutes they start to freak out? I don’t know, but it would be interesting to find out why…

Leave a Reply

