Screw positive thinking

I’ve been sitting on this link for some time out of sheer laziness.  But today I had a conversation with my coworkers that reminded me of it.

Lately I’ve found that no matter what I do it’s seemingly not good enough.  I’ve been trying and trying to achieve specific goals I set for myself, but to seemingly no avail.  Rereading this article shifts my thinking in a way that makes everything seem not as a huge fail, but a step in the right direction.

At the core, Rao is saying that we have been conditioned to think of certain things as bad and by labeling them as such we experience them in a negative way.  The key is to conditioning yourself to think of things quite simply as they are and finding ways through them instead of getting wrapped up in how awful a certain situation might be.

Case in point: I broke my foot while training for a ride I was really looking forward to and now I can’t participate.  This royally blows but now I get to work in the office full-time doing exactly what I want and loving every minute of it.  So instead of dwelling on the fact that I seem to break a foot every spring, I just see this for what it is: an opportunity.

Leave a Reply

